Gluten Free Alcohol

Photo from www.freedigitalphotos.net

Who would have guessed that there was such a barrage of Gluten Free Alcohols available? But be wary! I’m here tell you that there aren’t quite as many Gluten Free Alcohols out there that upon first glance would lead you to believe there were.

One important question I hear again and again is:

Are all Distilled Alcohols gluten free? (YOU ARE NOT SURE? - well the answer to this question is after the Alcohol list)


1) Alcohols - without any gluten used during production


Brandy

Photo from www.freedigitalphotos.net

There different types of Brandy - Grape brandy and Fruit brandy and Pomace brandy (I mention the most important in each category)

Grape brandy:

American grape brandy is almost always from California.[5]Popular brands include Christian Brothers and Korbel.

  • Armagnac is made in France from the Armagnac region in Southwest of France. Popular brands are Darroze, Baron de Sigognac, Larressingle, Delord, Laubade, Gélas and Janneau.
  • Cognac is made in France from the Cognac region,[5] and is double distilled using pot stills. Popular brands include Hine, Martell, Camus, Otard, Rémy Martin, Hennessy, Frapin, Delamain and Courvoisier.
  • Brandy de Jerez
  • Pisco
  • Cyprus brandy differs from other varieties in that its alcohol concentration is only 32% ABV.

Fruit Brandy

  • Applejack is an American apple brandy
  • Calvados is an apple brandy from Lower Normandy (France), It is double distilled. • Damassine is a prune (the fruit of the Damassinier tree) brandy from the Jura Mountains of Switzerland
  • Coconut brandy is a brandy made from the sap of coconut flowers.
  • Eau de vie is a French term for colorless fruit brandy. However, this term is also applied to grape-based brandy other than armagnac and cognac.
  • German Schnaps is fruit brandy produced in Germany or Austria.
  • Kirschwasser is a fruit brandy made from cherries.
  • Poire Williams is made from the Williams pear (also known as the Bartlett pear).
  • Slivovice is made from plums. It is produced in Croatia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, and Poland.

Pomace brandy

  • Italian Grappa



Beer

Click here to go to List of Gluten Free Beers



Rum

Rum is made from sugarcane byproducts such as molasses, or directly from sugarcane juice – All Rums should be Gluten free.



Gin

Gin: is represented by products of various origins, styles, and flavor profiles that all revolve around juniper as a common ingredient.

Here is a list of some common brands.

  • 209 Gin
  • Beefeater
  • Blackwood's
  • Bombay Sapphire - distilled with ten botanicals
  • Catoctin Creek - organic gin produced in Virginia
  • Citadelle
  • Damrak - sweet candied citrus aromas with a spicy liquorice and a juniper edge
  • DH Krahn Gin - Made in Northern California. Juniper, Citrus, Ginger and Coriander.
  • Gilbey's
  • Gilpin's Westmorland Extra Dry Gin
  • Ginebra San Miguel
  • Gordon's
  • Greenhook Ginsmiths
  • Hendrick's Gin - made in Scotland, infused with cucumber and rose petals
  • Nicholson's - made in London from 1730, now a Diageo brand
  • New Amsterdam Gin
  • Plymouth
  • Steinhäger
  • Taaka



Cocktails derived from Gin are:

Martini

Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape).

Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape).



Meat

Mead is also called honey wine it is made from honey and water.[2] but it may also be produced by fermenting a solution of water and honey with grain mash, which is strained after fermentation

Some notable brands

  • Dry Mead
  • Carroll’s Meat
  • Redstone Meadery

There are many others – if you want to avoid Gluten completely than be careful to choose the right meat.



Tequile

Tequila is a distilled beverage made from the blue agave plant, Just be sure it is made from Blue agave.



Wine, Cider, Sparkiling wine, champagne

Click here to go to Gluten free Wine



Vodka

  • Chopin - Potato Vodka
  • Ciroc - Grapes Vodka





2.) Distilled Alcohols - considered Gluten free although they contain gluten ingredients.

Bourbon – Is made from at least 51% corn and 49% with other grains such as wheat, rye, etc – they claim it is gluten free after the distillation process – but if you want to be sure to follow a 100% gluten free diet – just do not drink it.Although some people with Celiac Diseases claim that they have no problems with it. Another alcohol considered gluten free is Whiskey. Whiskey is made from grain including wheat but is considered gluten free due to the distillation process which removes hypothetically the gluten.



The people in charge of trying to get you to buy their products (aka the marketing department) thought long and hard on how to convince our Gluten Free community that their company’s existing products were good for us. (It’s so much easier for them to simply change the mind of the public than to go through the hassle and expense of creating a new and appropriate product.) These creative thinkers in marketing came up with this dity that “All distilled Alcohols are considered to be a Gluten Free Alcohol.” Well, that’s just a big fat lie. We can’t blame the Marketing Department personally as it’s their job, but a tiny bit of me wants to give them just a friendly slap.

Distilled Alcohol can be made form grains containing gluten. This puts a slight dent in the marketing department’s slogan. The Celiac Spruce Association warns the Gluten free community from alcohols made from grains containing gluten, as how could you have Alcohol made from a gluten base gluten free? That’s a very simple question and only takes a tiny bit of logic to figure out that you cannot have a Gluten Free Alcohol made that way. Luckily, a Gluten Free Alcohol is on the market. There is quite a variety too!



Hurrah for the wine drinkers as most wines are gluten free. (What a wonderful excuse to go wine tasting this summer!) Many beers are on the goody list too, most rums and some tecquilas. If you have a stomach of iron, which I do not, and drink these less grapey drinks straight then you are all set. If, like me, a little color or mix for the rum is ideal, you need to pay special attention to what is mixed with that Gluten Free Alcohol. The flavors, colors and other additives are usually not gluten free friendly. (Those pretty umbrellas are, so you can add as many of those to your drink as you like.) I’ve found that soaking my favorite fruit with rum is a very tasty alternative to “girly drinks”. Fresh chilled oranges slices soaked for two hours in a dark rum make a delightful twist to a game night, and the hostess loves that there’s no glassware to have to wash up!



Once you start to chat within the gluten free community you’ll make new friends (or might already have friends) who are also celebrating a gluten free lifestyle. It’s always nice to have people of similar interests over, right? So why not have a drinks and snacks party some balmy evening soon and take some well earned time relax? I’ve compiled a list of Gluten Free Alcohol for this very sort of occasion and plan on adding to it as we discover new items.



*This article is for mature persons of a certain age who legally can drink in their residential country. Please do not serve Gluten Free Alcohol to persons under age, even if it is the only Gluten Free item in your home and you’re feeling very European at that moment. Nope. Bad idea.





Return from Gluten Free Alcohol to Gluten Free Foods



Return to Homepage

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.
Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Gluten Free Harmony.