Food Allergens

Corn and Gluten containing Products, Ingredients and Additives

Corn and Gluten Food Allergens are hidden in many items and food products. This Food List is meant to be a guide to help you learn what to look for when choosing the food you will eat. This goes for both at home as well as eating out. While it is nearly impossible to have a complete Food list, the Food list below is a good start to help you get familiar with foods and products containing corn and gluten.

The items marked with 2 stars ** are items that might contain corn and gluten or be derived from corn and gluten but can be corn and gluten free.

If you interested in a food list which lists corn and gluten free food and items than click here - Corn and Gluten Free Foodlist.

Food Allergens - A

Acetates - When you find this word on ingredients and you are severely corn allergic you might want to avoid the product, acetates are salts or esters of the below outlined acetic acid.

Acetic Acid - This is a substance made from corn and used in a variety of applications. It is a chemical compound that has industrial applications; however, for the purposes here, we will focus on its use in food. Acetic acid is the substance in vinegar responsible for the sour taste and hash smell. Vinegar is used in a variety of foods but most commonly as a pickling agent.

Alcohol - Different kinds of alcohol come from all manner of grains and some, particularly hard alcohol are distilled from corn.

Artificial Flavoring - Is the process of altering the natural flavoring of food. This process may make the food sour, tart or sweet depending on the manipulation used. These Food Allergens are bad for everyone not only for people with allergies.

Ascorbic Acid - Commonly known, as Vitamin C, in supplement form ascorbic acid does not come from the citrus sources you would expect it too. It is actually synthesized from corn.

Aspartame - This is the general term for the sugar alternatives such as NutraSweet. There are conflicting reports as to how aspartame is created; the most credible source of information suggests it is derived from hydrogenating maltose, which is a corn derivative. However, does it really matter? Food Allergens like that should be anyway avoided.

Aspic - This normally clear jelly is considered to have savory flavor. It is made from gelatin, meat, vegetable or fish stock. It can be a base for dishes that are molded and for glazes.

Food Allergens - B

Baking Powder - This substance is created by mixing chemical leavening agents with starch. The starch used is created from corn. This is not to be confused with baking soda, bicarbonate of soda, which is a very different substance.But several manufacturerer produce also Baking Powders without Food Allergens - but this kind of Baking Powder can be very rare.

Barley - Its main use is usually found in beer brewing, however it can also be found in many cereals. For these processes the whole grain minus the husk is used and cooking it takes several hours. Pearl barley is used in commercial products having the germ and the husks removed which produces barley flour. Other terms that may indicate that you have barley in your food include barley malt, Hordeum Vulgare, or barley extract.

Barley Malt - This is a slow digesting sweetener created from the barley plant. Barley malt is the main contributor to beer making. It is used extensively because it is ideal for brewing beer. Malted barley has a high number of enzymes that are efficient at converting starch to simple sugar; it also has proteins, which are needed for the yeast. Pure malt extract is very expensive so to keep production costs down it is often cut with corn syrup, which is much cheaper. In addition to beer production, malted barley is used for medicines that promote regularity.

Beer, porter, stout, ale, and other fermented beverages - These products generally contain barley and you should see the above description for barley.

Bleached Flour - This is a no no for people with Gluten intolerance but according to the USDA rules for food labels bleached flour producers can add cornstarch to the product without putting it on the label. Cornstarch is used as dilutent for the bleaching agents. Bleached Flour has several food allergens in it.

Blended sugar (sugar dextrose) – In some areas dextrose is added to pure sugar to create a product that is cheaper than pure sugar. Dextrose is a corn-based sweetener that is cheaper to produce and thus contaminated with Food Allergens.

Blue Cheese - This cheese is not gluten free. Even though the cheese is mostly dairy made from sheep's, goat's or cow's milk it begins by growing mold cultures (penicillin) on wheat bread. Some manufactures now state that the cultures are synthetic or artificial but unless the product specifically states it is gluten free, you should avoid it.

Bouillon - Used in making broth (see above). Call the manufacturer of the bullion to see if it is truly gluten free as products contain gluten are often used to keep the product from caking.

Bran - Often used in baked products and cereals it is considered a great sources of fiber, however you need to avoid it because it is made from wheat by using the outer layers of cereal grains.

Bread Flour - This product is made from wheat and therefore should be avoided.

Broth - Read the ingredients carefully on your soup bases products as many manufacturers now offer a gluten and corn free version of this clear, thin liquid. However, many times it contains several Food Allergens.

Bulgur - Many mistake bulgur for cracked wheat because in order to use bulgur the wheat kernels need to be crushed, dried, or steam. The texture is chewy and tender and is often used in wheat pilaf. Other terms that let you know to avoid the food included bulgur nuts and bulgur wheat.

Food Allergens - C

Calcium Acetate - This food additive is used in many candy products. It is made by taking eggshells and soaking them in vinegar. It then produces a crystal like substance.

Calcium Citrate - This is a calcium supplement that you would think was derived from milk or some other calcium rich substance, however some supplements are made with cornstarch.

Calcium Fumarate - It is the calcium salt of fumaric acid. Fumaric acid preparation involves oxidation of furfural (from the processing of maize/corn).

Calcium Gluconate - Same as the two above this supplement can contain cornstarch.

Calcium Lactate - A natural microbe product that is created through the fermentations of cornstarch.

Calcium Sterate - Is a food additive characterized by the E number E572, it too can be produced from corn.

Caramel - Caramel is an ingredient often used for coloring or flavoring. At its core, it is cooked sugar that you will find most often in carbonated soft drinks, particularly cola and some dark bread. Carmel can be made from a variety of sources including cane and beet sugar, however commercial food production use corn syrup more often than not. A popular cola you may have heard of, Jolt, used cane sugar for some time but even it has been switched to corn syrup. Caramel sounds harmless but can contain several Food Allergens.

Carbon methylcellulose sodium - This is a substance used most commonly to treat people with dry irritated eyes. It contains cellulose, and as mentioned above this is a corn by product.

Cellulose - It derives mostly from Corn Stover. Corn Stover is the mixture of corn stalks, leaves and various other parts of the corn plant. It is a large agricultural residual in America. Excess Stover that is not left in the field to prevent erosion is used as an inexpensive cellulose supply. Avoid all products which contain cellulose in their names which means only that it is contaminated with Food Allergens.

Cellulose Microcrystalline - Is used to improve the overall stability of many medications. This chemical compound comes from cellulose, which as stated above is a corn product. This hydrophilic white powder will dissolve in cold but not hot water. When it dissolves the powder then becomes a gel like substance. It is sold as a thickener for various foods, make-up and a constipation treatment.

Cellulose Powdered - You can find this as a thickening agent or stabilizer in many products. It is commonly used in soups, dairy products, syrups, as well as packaging materials such as films and coatings.

Cereal - Made from starchy seeds from grass. These grasses typically include rice, barley, corn, oats, rye, sorghum, and wheat. Many commercial produced cereals contain wheat and wheat products. According to the acres planted, wheat is used the most in producing cereals. Other terms to look for are cereal binding and cereal extract.

Cetearyl Glucoside - Used as the principle-binding agent for several Beauty Naturally products. This is an all-natural product; however, it is derived from corn and coconut oil.

Citric Acid - Is used to convey a tart or sour flavor to a variety of candies and soft drinks. There are times when citric acid is made from corn, though this is not always the case. You may have no reactions to it in particular, but most of the products it is used in also contain corn syrup. Everything with citric Acid is contaminated with Food Allergens.

Citrus Cloud Emulsion - CCS is a natural product created from vegetable oil, food starch and pine tree resin, more commonly known as Ester Gum. This product keeps common ingredients from separating from each other. The important thing to be aware of as this relates to corn allergies is the fact that starches and vegetable oil may have come from corn, this is not the rule but it is possible.

Coco Glycerides - Is used as a binding agent and thickener for many cosmetics. It is generally mild and easy on the skin being derived from fruit sugar and coconut oil.

Confectioners’ Sugar - Confectioner’s sugar is ordinary table sugar, reduced to a fine powder. To keep the powder from caking, manufacturers commonly add cornstarch to it. Domino Sugar tells me their 10x confectioner's sugar is about 2% cornstarch. A recent foodcooking contributor gave 4% as a typical fraction, but another correspondent claims it can run as high as 30%. Trader Joe's Organic Powdered Sugar is made with tapioca starch instead.Not all Confectioners Sugar is contaminated with Food Allergens, but mostly they are.

Corn-anything - Any food or ingredient with corn in its name is certain to be a problem, including whole corn, corn flour, cornstarch, corn gluten, corn syrup, corn meal, corn oil, and popcorn. The only exception that I know of is corned beef, so-called because it is cured with coarse salt that resembles kernels of corn. However, processed meats often contain dextrose, food starch, or corn syrup, so do not assume that corned beef is corn-free. In cooking, you can usually substitute arrowroot powder for cornstarch.

Couscous - Used heavily in North Africa cooking this staple is semolina in a granular form. Many add milk to it to make porridge or mix some fruit and sweetener to make a dessert. You can also find it precooked and package in many large grocery stores.

Cracker meal - Made from crushing saltine crackers this product is generally used topping foods such as casseroles or for breading fish or meats. Saltine crackers are made from wheat flour and need to be avoided.

Crosscarmellose sodium - Croscarmellose sodium is a very commonly used FDA approved pharmaceutical additive. Its purpose in most tablets - including dietary supplements - is to assist the tablet in disintegrating in the intestinal tract at the required location. Croscarmellose sodium is an internally cross-linked Sodium Carboxymethylcellulose. Everything with cellulose needs attention, because it could be from corn.I am always careful with products which are addiives, many additives are contaminated with Food Allergens and they are not very healthy in general.

Croutons - These crunchy salad topers are usually seasoned and cube bread. The bread is usually re-baked or sautéed and can be made from a variety of breads. Many use them to add texture to salads and some may eat them plain as a snack.

Crystalline dextrose - See dextrose

Crystalline fructose - See dextrose

Cyclodextrin - See dextrose

Food Allergens - D

DATEM (Diacetyl Tartaric (Acid) Ester of Monoglyceride) – This is an emulsifier used mostly in baking. It is dough conditioner as discussed above.

Decyl Glucoside – When cornstarch meets the fatty alcohol decanal Decyl Glucoside is formed. It is considered a gentle ingredient commonly added to cosmetics and baby shampoos or any product developed for those with sensitive skin. Natural companies who make personal care products like this cleanser because it is derived from plants and gentle for any hair however it includes food allergens and so not usable for allergie sufferer.

Decyl Polyglucose - Is produces from vegetation including but not limited to corn, coconut and palm oils. This is an eco friendly soap agent.

Dextran – Derived from corn or potatoe starch which is partially hydrolysed. Found in medications.

Dextrin - Commonly found in dressings, ice cream and various sauces this substance is a thickening agent most often created with the use of cornstarch.

Dextrin, maltodextrin - A substance also used for thickening is dextrin or malt dextrin. These are generally made from cornstarch and commonly found in dressings, ice cream or sauces. Even names like that consists of Food Allergens.

Dextrose anything (such as monohydrate or anhydrous) - Dextrose (also known as glucose or "corn sugar") and fructose ("fruit sugar") are simple sugars that are often made from corn. Dextrose is used in a variety of foods, including cookies, ice cream and sports drinks such as Gatorade. It also shows up in prepared foods that are supposed to come out crispy, such as French fries, fish sticks, and potato puffs. It is common in intravenous solutions, which could be quite dangerous. Fructose is usually seen in the form of high fructose corn syrup, but makes an occasional appearance on its own.

Dinkle - Is a type of wheat and other terms you should look for are Farro, Faro, Spelt and German wheat.

Dough Conditioner - This is any type of chemical added to bread dough to strengthen the texture and or make it easier to handle. In other words, keep it from falling apart when you kneed it or otherwise handle it. Common varieties of dough conditioners include ascorbic acid and DATEM both of which can be derived from corn and thus be careful if you read words like that - it means food allergens present.

Durum - This wheat is important because it is widely used in couscous for the Arab world. In the Arab cooking it is often used to form the basis in gruels, puddings, pastries, stuffing and soup. In a finely ground form like flour it cans also be used for breads and pastas. In some places in Europe it is often used for torte or pizza. Other terms general used are macaroni wheat or durum wheat.

Food Allergens - E

Einkorn - The word actually means "a grain" or "one grain" and is used to describe wild wheat (triticum boeoticum or baeoticum) and thus and can not be used by allergy sufferers because it consists of Food allergens. It is currently not recommend to use in a gluten free diet but it is being looked at as causing less severe reactions to those who suffer from celiac disease because of the protein it contains called gliadin.

Emmer - Emmer is closely related to durum wheat and is not recommend for those who suffer from celiac disease or wheat allergies. Its uses include breads, some baked goods, pastas and soups. It is widely used in Turkey and is also found in both Switzerland and Italy but not useful for allergy sufferer since it contains Food Allergens.

Excipients - A substance known as excipients holds pills or tablet together. Common excipients include honey, gum Arabic and honey but cornstarch is not unheard of.

Food Allergens - F

Farina - This word is used to describe starch. In the United State it describes starch made from any wheat except durum wheat and in the UK the term is a synonym for potato starch. You can never be sure if it contains the Food Allergens you need to avoid, so it is better not to use it at all.

Farro - There is no general consensus on what Farro actually is. Some feel it is emmer, some say it is spelt and still some groups claim it is a species of its own. The types of wheat that is grown in Italy and consumer as Farro include spelt, emmer and einkorn.

Filler - A term used to describe an ingredient which is added to a product for the purpose of increasing the product's dietary fiber levels. I never like words like filler. I think the products containing fillers are unhealthy in general and I would also not buy even it would not contain Food allergens what we have to avoid.

Flour - Use in many products such as pasta, breads, crackers, gravies, sauces and many baked foods. Types of flour can include all-purpose, bleached, bread, brown, enriched, gluten, graham granary, oat, wheat, white, barley.Well, everything with flour in it has to be considered unsafe, it can or cannot contains the Food Allergens someone has to avoid, but sometimes it is not clear what kind of flour it is.

Fu - Wheat gluten in its dried form. See gluten for more description.

Food Allergens - G

Germ - This term refers to the nucleus of a grain's kernel. Germ made from wheat is one of the most popular types on the market. Products that use germ include bread, flour and cereals and have known to be added to eggs and even yogurt.Well, germ contains Food Allergens which are not safe for individuals with corn and gluten allergies.

Glucona delta lactone - A substance you may find in recently manufactured cured meats is Glucona delta lactone or GDL. Little is known about whether or not this product contains corn or not, however Archer Daniels Midland a well-known manufacture of corn products does create it. I do not "secret products". I alwyas like to know what is in it, and who knows which Food Allergens has been used to produce it.

Glycerol (Glycerin) - Glycerol is a by-product during the production of biofuel, biodiesel (via the transesterification of vegetable oils or animal fats).

Glucuronic Acid - This is the cosmetic ingredient D-Glucuronic acid, it is actually a carboxylic acid. These acids are created by the oxidation of alcohols or aldehydes.

Gluten - It is comprised of Glutenin and gliadin proteins which join with starch in grass related grains like barley, rye and wheat. This product is what gives baking products like bread and bagels their elasticity. At least it is even to find out that this belongs to a group of Food Allergens which cannot be eaten by corn and gluten allergy sufferer.

Golden syrup - On cookie and candy wrappers, you may find an ingredient called golden syrup or treacle. Golden syrup is sometimes a mixture of corn syrup and molasses. This is an ingredient most commonly found in Canadian made sweets. If you find Tate and Lyle’s golden syrup, you can breathe easy as it comes from cane sugar.

Graham Flour - A course whole wheat flour. It is used in graham crackers, pie crust and cereals and was first developed by Rev. Sylvester Graham.

Food Allergens - H

High Fructose Corn Syrup - As the name plainly states this product is from corn. It is produced by rendering glucose from cornstarch and then fructose from the glucose. This is a common sweetener for candy, juices and popsicles. There is a controversy about this Syrup - some people say it is unhealthy not only for people who have to avoid Food Allergens, however that has not been scientifically proven.

Hominy Grits - Derived from the same corn, grits are coarsely ground hominy. Many southern homes will serve grits with milk and sugar for breakfast or made into a mush like substance then chilled, cut and fried to create a nice dinner side dish. I am from Austria and I had no idea that this is made of Food Allergens such as corn.

Hominy - This has long been a staple of the American diet. The first use of hominy dates all the way back to the Indians and colonists. Hominy is the dried white or yellow corn kernels after the germ and hull are removed.

Honey - Honey of course comes from bees; however, when the bees become low on food keepers will often create syrup to feed them. Large commercial operations are especially prone to using high fructose corn syrup, which can make the bees ill. When purchasing honey it is best to stick to small growers or businesses.

Hordeum aka Horderum bulare - See the term barley

**Horseradish (Pure) - Pure Horseradish is corn and gluten free, BUT most use the term Horseradish to refer to the grinded root of the horseradish plant mixed with vinegar. Distilled vinegar is corn derived. Another one which can contain Food Allergens or not - well, better to avoid it and stay safe.

Hydrolyzed corn - As it says – it contains corn – as above

Hydrolyzed corn protein - The same as above

Hydrolyzed oat starch - Starch made from the oats and used as a thickener for many products.

Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein - This vegetable protein is used in several processed foods such as chili, sauce, stews and soups as a flavor enhancer. It is a protein that can be obtained from many vegetables, soybeans, wheat and corn, just to name a few. Nobody can tell by just the name if it contains Food Allergens or not.

Hydrolyzed wheat gluten - Gained by hydrolysis methods of wheat it is used often times as a filler or bonding agent.

Hydrolyzed wheat protein - Is a product used a binding agent for flavoring in meats or in processed foods such as vegetarian burgers.

Hydroxypropyl Cellulose (see cellulose) - It is a derivative of cellulose. It is used as a topical ophthalmic protectant, lubricant, food additive, thickener, emulsion and stabiliser with E number E463. In tablets it is used as a disintegrant and a binder

Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose (also called Hypromellose) It is a semisynthetic, inert, viscoelastic polymer. It is used as an emulsifier, thickening and suspending agent, and an alternative to animal gelatin.[3] Its Codex Alimentarius code (E number) is E464. It is also used as an ophthalmic lubricant, excipient controlled-delivery component in oral medicaments. found in a variety of commercial products[1][2]. Also found in baking products

Food Allergens - I

Inositol - This can refer to any one of nine isomeric alcohols particularly ones found in plants such as corn and animal tissue. It is commonly classified as a vitamin B complex and is present in cereals as phytic acid.

Invert sugar or syrup - Sometimes a product will require thinner syrup, in this case a product known as invert syrup is used. Invert syrup is enzymatic ally treated corn sugars, some places you might find it is commercially produced cookies.

Isomalt - It's a mixture of two other sugar alcohols, mannitol and sorbitol. Isomalt is used in hard and soft candies, chocolates, ice cream, jams and preserves, baked goods, fillings and fondants, chewing gum and cough drops.

Food Allergens - K

Kamut - Often used in puffed cereals, crackers and pasta, kamut is high protein wheat whose meaning is translated from the ancient Egyptian and literally translates to wheat. This wheat is two to three times larger than most wheat and is never hybridized but is one of the Food Allergens we have to avoid.

Food Allergens - L

Lactate - This is found in common foods like sauerkraut and can be used to condition flour or emulsify certain foods.

Lactic Acid - Lactic acid is yet another of the many tartness agents or preservatives found in many foods. This one is used often in the production of cheese. It originates from lactose or milk sugar, which the ADM creates from corn.

Lauryl Glucoside - Often used in cosmetics this substance is created from glucose and lauryl alcohol. Both of which can come from corn.

Lecithin - Lecithin is a naturally occurring substance in eggs, corn and some other foods. It is used as an emulsifier in food production; however, I have been informed that the commercial application is derived from soybeans and therefore should be corn free. The expression "should be" is not very trustable - it means for me that it is derived from one of the Food Allergens and so our family avoid it.

Linoleic Acid -This is a polyunsaturated fatty acid, which can only be garnered from the food you eat. It actually comes from omega-6 fatty acids and is consumed most often through vegetable seeds such as corn. This is a vital substance for good health and the proper growth of babies. At one time, it was known as Vitamin F; however, it is no longer thought of as a vitamin.

Lysine - This essential amino acid cannot be synthesized in the body and therefore must come from the food we eat. It aids in building muscle, recovering from injury and absorbing calcium. Humans should get at least 1 gram of Lysine a day. Cereals, fish and legumes are a great source. It can be artificially synthesized on a commercial level, and may be a corn derivative in such cases.

Food Allergens - M

Magnesium Fumarate - This is a nutrient dense supplementary form of magnesium. The human body produces both magnesium and Fumarate and both are essential in their own right. A body lacking in either or both may suffer from anorexia, vomiting, and or psoriasis as well as other ailments.

Maize - Just another word for corn. This can be found in fruit pie fillings to give that shiny clear appearance. Waxy Maize is a source of amylopectin, which may be found in food products, textiles, adhesives and the paper industry.

Malic Acid - Malic acid is an organic compound that occurs naturally in apples, plums and tomatoes as well as others. It is often used as an additive and can be made from corn.

Malonic Acid - Used in making barbiturates malonic acid begin with acetic acid- see acetic acid

Malt, malt extract, malt syrup - Malt is a germinated grain and is most often barley. Malt can be any grain however including corn or rice. These are used often because they are not as expensive as barley. If you come across malt that is not labeled it is most likely not barley. Alcoholic beverages, chocolate, breakfast cereals, and soft drinks will many times contain malt.

Maltitol - A common replacement for sugar as it contains fewer calories. Maltitol is created by a hydrogenation of maltose garnered from cornstarch. so many things contain or are made from Food Allergens - it is scary.

Maltodextrin - Malodextrin is used for many things; it is a thickener, texturizing agent, product stabilizer and nutritional sweetener. In the United States Maltodextrin is a starch hydrolysate that is obtained from corn, but it can also be extracted from wheat, potato or rice.

Maltol - This is a natural organic compound used to enhance flavor. It is made from the bark of the larch tree, in roasted malt and in pine needles. It smells like caramel, so is often used to make fragrances smell sweet. It tastes like fresh baked bread and is known as E636 when used in breads and cakes to enhance the flavor.

Maltose - Also known as malt sugar

Mannitol - This is a great sweetener for those suffering from diabetes. Mannitol has the unique ability to provide that cooling feel you find with many of todays breath freshners. There is nothing that suggests this is created from a corn product, but as you know, where there is sugar, there can also be corn. Well my family treat is like it is made from Food Allergens and so we avoid it.

Masa – This is the dough used for corn tortillas. It is made of sun or fire dried corn kernels that have soaked in limewater. Limewater is water mixed with calcium oxide. After soaking the wet corn is ground into masa. Masa harina is flour made of dried masa.

Matza (Matzo, Matzah) - Used by Jewish people as a bread substitute for observing Passover. Made from plain white flour and water and baked in a flatbread which has the consistency of a cracker.

Medium Chain Triglycerides – These are fatty acid esters of glycerol in a chain of 6 to 12 carbons long. They do not require modification to be absorbed like long chain fatty acids. They also do not require bile salts for digestion. They are used to help people suffering from malnutrition because they don't need any energy to be absorbed and used. They can be found in coconut and palm kernel oils and in the drupes of the camphor tree. Medium chain triglycerides contain medium chain fatty acids.

Methyl Gluceth - This substance is commonly used in cosmetics around the globe and is created from grape and corn sugar.

Methyl Glvucoside - This is a compound that contains sugar; it is most often used in resins, drying oils and surfactants.

Methyl Cellulose – This powdery substance is prepared synthetically from natural cellulose. It is used as a food additive, a laxative, a thickener and an amulsifier. It forms a gel in water. It can be purchased under several trade names as a thickener and emulsifier. It is also used in cosmetics. It is not digestible. It is neither toxic or allergenic.

Microcrystalline Cellulose - This is an important substance in the drug industry. Most generally, this compound is derived from wood pulp however; it can contain trace amounts of cornstarch. It is the one substance that is great for making tablets within the drug industry.

Mineral salts – These salts include potassium, calcium, sodium, chloride, sulphate, phosphate and more. They are or were produced through mining. They are gluten free but can contain corn.

MIR - Is a combination of rye and wheat that comes in many variations.

Miso - Used in Japanese cooking this term is often referred to as bean paste. It comes in a variety of colors and flavors and has the texture of peanut butter. It is soybean paste that has been fermented and may contain barley. It comes in three types, soybean miso, barley miso, and rice miso all of which undergo the same process of injecting mold into cooked soybeans and then further cultivating them in either a rice, soybean or barley base.

Modified Cellulose Gum - In this form, the cellulose is modified to be water-soluble, in other words it will dissolve in water. You will find it most often in low calorie foods and starchy pie fillings.

Modified Cornstarch - You can find this substance also used as a thickening agent, stabilizer or binding agent. This makes it good for a variety of applications including pharmaceuticals. Bottom line is it is a corn derivative.

Modified food starch - See above – can derive from corn.

Molasses - Molasses is an easily recognizable dark syrupy substance that has a distinct flavor. It comes as a byproduct of the sugar refining process. When sugar crystallizes a dark bitter substance is left behind which we know as molasses. Depending on the manufacturer, it is not unheard of for corn syrup to be added, carefully consider your product.

Mono and Di Glycerides - It seems apparent that ice cream, sauces and dressings contain many different corn products. Mono and diglycerides are found in all of these as a texturing agent. Animal and vegetable oils, corn included are a main part of glycerides. Vegetable diglycerides may be present on the label; however, animal glycerides are generally not.

Monosodium glutamate (MSG) - You have probably heard many different things about MSG the flavor enhancer. It is present in packaged foods and most commonly in Chinese food. People are known to have reactions to this product; it is commonly called Chinese restaurant syndrome. American made MSG accent is labeled as drawn from corn; however, the imported oriental products are not. Corn is listed as a source of MSG on the MSG Myth site.

**Monosaccharides – A sweet-tasting crystalline soluble carbohydrate made up of a single chain. They include glucose, galactose and fructose. Monosaccharides are the end product of the digestion of complex carbohydrates and disaccharides like table and milk sugars. They are absorbed in the intestine and carried to tissues to be used as energy or to be stored.

Monostearates – These are salts and esters of stearic acid. Stearic acid can also be obtained from the hydrogenation of some unsaturated vegetable oils (including corn oil).

**Mustard powder - Due to additives used to keep products from not caking together this may have gluten in it. Check with the manufacturer before using it.

**Mushroom - Although mushroom byitself are corn and gluten free, they are grown on a medium which can contain acidic corn gluten meal.

Food Allergens - N

Neotame – This is an artificial sweetener made by NutraSweet. It is between 8,000 and 13,000 times sweeter than cane sugar. It does not accumulate in the body. It was developed by Monsanto Chemical Corporation, and is similar in structure to aspartame, which has been found to be toxic. Neotame may be blended with sucrose, high fructose corn syrup, aspartame, sucralose, acesulfame potassium and saccharin to match existing tastes in normal and diet products.I avoid this product completly and not only because it contains Food Allergens, it just to unhealthy.

Food Allergens -O

***Oat Bran, oats, oat syrup, oat gum, oat fiber - These products are best known for their use in oatmeal. However, they are also used as a medium to grow bacteria that help with the digestive tract in many patients that have infections that are considered severe. Recent research demonstrated that Oat is gluten free and can be eaten by gluten allergy sufferer or people with celiac diseases (in Europe is considered as gluten free).

Olestra/Olean - Olestra is synthesized from sucrose and vegetable oil, potentially corn oil, and used in several snacks like potato chips. This substance can pass completely though your stomach and digestive system without being digested.

Oleic Acid- This type of acid is a monounsaturated fat, containing omega-9 fatty acid. It can be found in many types of vegetables and animals. Oleic Acid is also used in aerosol products as an additive to help make the product.

Oleoresin - A naturally occurring mixture of an oil and a resin extracted from various plants. Dos not always contain corn, but can contain corn.

Oriental wheat - For a wider description see kamut. Other synonyms for oriental wheat include turanicum or triticum.

Food Allergens - P

**Palmitic Acid - A popular acid found in many soaps. It can be found in various fats and oils. Palmitic acid is also a compound found in low-fat milk to help make up for the vitamin that is lost during the milk removal process. Other sources where palmitic acid can be found include the napalm gas used during World War II. There have been claims that the over consumption of palmitic acid could increase one's risk of having cardiovascular diseases. Well, who wants to have a cardiovascular Diseases? Another product I would not buy even it does not contain Food Allergens.

Pantothenic Acid - This is an essential vitamin which can be found during the stages of fat metabolism and carbohydrates. It helps with the conversion of cholesterol into anti-stress hormones. While it is encouraged for more studies to be conducted on this matter, some have indicated that the acid can improve a person's overall fitness level. The acid was first discovered due to the fact that without it, the black hair on rats turned to grey. There are no current results showing that it helps prevent grey hair, but it is still used in some hair products as a pro vitamin B. Sources of panthothenic acid include peas, beer yeast, and pig liver.

Pectin - It can be found in the peels of lemons, limes, grapefruits, oranges, apples, as well as the heads of sunflowers. Pectin is primarily found in certain gels used in foods. It is usually a base for a certain jelly, as well as a stabilizer in various desserts or dairy products. General they add corn based products into it to stabilize it. Some manufacture make it cornfree and glutenfree, but people with Allergies be careful it mostly contains Food Allergens.

Pectinase - This can be found in the pith of fruits that contain citrus. It is typically an additive in fruit juices to clarify the color.It can be extracted from fungi.

**Peru Balsam- Typically formulated into various aromatherapy oils, which have a very sweet or earthy fragrance. However, it can be found in different medications that treat bronchitis, colds, flu, poor circulation, sensitive skin, eczema, and chapped skin. It is found in the bark of the balsam tree in Peru and is soluble in alcohol, ether, acetone, chloroform, benzene, and glacial acetic acid.

Petrolatum- This is a very popular household item. It was originally found to have a healing property as an ointment. Since then, it has been known as a cure for almost every problem. Besides the fact that it is popular with consumers, it is also used heavily in the cosmetic industry as a base for certain products. Robert Chesebrough was the first to patent the product known as petroleum jelly in 1872. Although it can be corn and gluten free, nowadays hybrid petrolatum are used which is a complex mixture of vegetable oils (which can be corn oil) and waxes and combines them with petroleum.

Polenta - This is the Italian phrase for a maize/corn meal that is ground coarsely. Other ways of making it include turning it into porridge and adding cheese. It can also be fried or baked.

PGPR (Polyglycerol, Polyricinoleate) – (see glycerol) This emulsifier is a derivative of castor beans, which helps decrease the friction of milk, sugar and other coatings when melted. Its primary use is to reduce the amount of fat in chocolate.

Polyactic Acid, PLA - This is a substance derived from substances like corn meal and has many applications in the medical field. The substance itself is biodegradable polyester and is currently being used for such devices as stitches, stents and dialysis media and delivery devices. Currently it is being researched as a substance useful in tissue engineering. Other uses include compost bags, food packaging, and disposable silverware. However, it contains Food Allergens and all these products derived from it should be avoided by allergy sufferer.

Polydextrose - (Refer to dextrose) Also known as a "soluble fiber", it is used to increase the amount of fiber content in food, as well as reduce calories and sugar. Polydextrose first became approved by the FDA in the United States in 1981.

**Polyethylene Can be made from petroleum (which is usually OK) but also from corn. Try to avoid Polyethylen made from corn. What is better - eating petroleum or corn - well for my feelings - I would not eat any of those, even I am personally not effected from Food Allergens.

Polyvinyl Acetate - This polymer can be corn derived and is used extensively for bookbinding and book art because it is so flexible. Unlike other polymers, PVA is non-acidic and therefore used frequently in paper, paint and industrial coatings. When it comes to food production, it is commonly used to protect cheese from fungi.

Potassium Citrate - Potassium citrate is used in the medical field to control kidney stones that are caused by either uric acid or cystine. You can also find this substance in soft drinks where it is used as a buffering agent. Some information lists it as a reagent that contains corn.

Potassium Fumerate - This is the potassium salt of fumaric acid, it is commonly used as a food additive. (Refer to Fumaric Acid)and contains Food Allergens.

Potassium Gluconate - Potassium gluconate is also used for medicinal purposes, as it is a much-needed electrolyte for the proper function of cells, nerves, muscle contraction, kidney function and acid balance. There are several methods for obtaining potassium naturally; beans, milk, and vegetables all contain high levels of potassium.

Powdered Sugar - This is much the same consistency as confectioners’ sugar and is used to make icing, frosting and cake decorations. Powdered sugar contains high levels of corn syrup, which was very sad for us, because I like to use it for decorations - however it contains Food Allergens so we do not use it anylonger, and you can always find an alternative.

Pregelatinized Starch - This is a substance used in salad dressings, sugary confections, and instant pudding or pie fillings and as a binder in processed meat products. This starch is mostly from corn and has been first cooked and then dried.

Propionic Acid - This is an acid found naturally in sweat, milk and is a product of bacterial fermentation. To create this product synthetically producer use ethyl alcohol and carbon monoxide. The largest use is as a mold inhibitor in breads and a common ingredient in many perfumes. There is a good chance that it contains at least trace amounts of corn due to the use of alcohol.

Propylene Glycol - A liquid commonly found in antifreeze and brake fluid as well as cosmetics. The liquid is sweet and colorless and the effects of it can be harmful to the body when absorbed through the skin. Another product I try to avoid and not only due to the fact that it contains Food Allergens. I do not like sentences like
Propylene Glycol Monostearate - Is used as an emulsion stabilizer in food products.

Food Allergens - R

Rennet-This enzyme is used in the process of curdling or clotting milk. Rennet is used in the production of cheese. It is found in the stomach (4th layer) of young animals. It is now commercially used and is done so by soaking the tissue is lightly salted warm water and then strained, the resulting liquid is then preserved.

Ricinoleic Acid - This omega 9 unsaturated fatty acid can be found naturally in a castor plant that is fully mature. This is what 90% of castor oils content is made of and it is a triglyceride. Ricinoleic can have an effect of be an anti inflammatory agent. A polymoyer of ricinoleic acid can also be found in chocolate.So since this Food Allergens containing product is also found in chocolate - be careful chocolate lover.

Ricinoleic Acid - This omega 9 unsaturated fatty acid can be found naturally in a castor plant that is fully mature. This is what 90% of castor oils content is made of and it is a triglyceride. Ricinoleic can have an effect of be an anti inflammatory agent. A polymoyer of ricinoleic acid can also be found in chocolate.

Rice malt - Is a substance that is derived from barley and is used as a sweetening agent in cakes, candies and cookies. The word malt says it all - it is derived from Food Allergens.

Rice syrup/brown rice syrup - Getting this sweetener is quite involved. First the rice must be cooked and then culture with enzymes which normally come from dried sprouts of barley. Once this has broken down you strain the mixture's liquid and continue to cook until the constancy you need is reach.I was always thinking that nothing can get wrong with rice, but Food Allergens can also hide in rice.

Rye - Which is also known as cereal grass or grain of Secale cereal is one of the main ingredients used in Europe in their cereals. It is dark flour and is void of elasticity and bread made from rye is usually yeast free and made with sour dough instead.

Food Allergens - S

Saccharin - Is the sodium salt from sulfobenzimide. In cooking you will find this widely used as a sweetening agent and it is over 300 times sweeter than sucrose (sugar cane). The saccharin salts are used in toothpaste and in beverages to help improve the taste. It is also substituted in many foods to make them diabetic and low calorie friendly. Saccharin can be a carcinogen, and thus I avoid it. Food Allergens containing or not - I really do not want to develop cancer.

Salt- Iodized - Salt is mined from the earth and as such, you would not expect to find any corn involvement at all. However, salt also contains dextrose, which is added to stabilize the iodine compound.What a surprise - Food Allergens can be found everywhere. Without this stabilizer, the iodine will dissipate. Even sea salt, which contains natural iodine, loses much of it through the processing phase. Iodine is something the body needs but you should think long and hard about where you get yours. I have not experienced any ill effect from using iodized salt but I use it quite sparingly during cooking and never at the table. There are those who have claimed to have a reaction to the dextrose in ordinary table salt.

Scotch - Unlike most American whiskies this liquor is distinctive because it uses barley for flavoring instead of corn. One of Scotch's distinct characteristics, its smoky flavor, is derived from drying malted barley sprouts over peat fires. The worst for people with corn and gluten allergies - both Food Allergens can hide in this one.

Seitan - This substance is often used in vegetarian dishes as a substitute for meat. It is made from wheat gluten and is high in protein and has a chewy texture.

Semolina - Used in creating pastas this is made from durum wheat that is coarsely ground.

Sodium Carboxymethylcellulose - Used as an emulsifier or thickening agent it is a gummy substance. (See also cellulose)

Sodium Erythorbate - An additive you will find present in meats, poultry and soft drinks. It is used in processed meats like hot dogs to reduce the rate at which nitrate becomes nitric oxide, this way the meats keep their pink coloring. It is also considered a flavor stabilizer and prevents the creation of carcinogenic nitrosamines. This substance is a sugar substance that can come from beets, sugar cane, and corn.

Sodium Fumarate - In processed foods, this is the acidity regulator. It can be a corn derivative. (See Fumarate)

Sodium Lactate - To extend shelf life producers will commonly use sodium lactate. It is also an antimicrobial and increases food safety by inhibiting spoilage and pathogenic bacteria.You can also find this substance in common shampoos and liquid soaps. To get sodium lactate manufacturers neutralize lactic acid, which of course comes from the fermentation of sugar sources and those can include corn.

Sodium starch glycolate – This is a carboxymethyl ether of starch. Usally it is from potatoe but can be from corn, wheat or rice.

Sodium Starch Glycolate - This is a sodium salt of Carboxymethyl ether of starch, the starch may come from a potato but can also come from wheat, rice or corn.

Sodium Stearoyl Fumarate - Processed foods emulsifier (see also Fumarate)

Sorbate - Contained in the berries of the mountain ash or created synthetically and used as a food preservative fungicide. When made synthetically it is corn derived.

Sorbitan - It is created from the dehydration of sorbitol (see below). The most common uses are for the production of surfactants.

Sorbitol - This substance occurs naturally in several fruits and berries, and is a sweet substance. To manufacture it requires the breakdown of dextrose. Most common uses are as a sugar substitute for diabetics, production of vitamin C and some candies. I have also been told that sorbitol is in the ingredients list of many oral hygiene products such as mouthwash and toothpaste.

Sorghum - Syrup or grain can be mixed with corn

**Soy sauce - Used as a flavoring agent soy sauce is made by roasting barley or wheat in a brine with soybeans that have been fermented. Check with your manufacturer as many are now offering a gluten free product.

Spelt - Is a close relative of common wheat and anyone with celiac disease should completely avoid. However spelt can be tolerated by some who have wheat intolerance or a wheat allergy. You can find spelt in a variety of products such as breads, crackers, biscuits and pastas. Spelt tends to have a nutty flavor and a bit sweet. Our family avoid it - it is a Food Allergen, so why not keep yourself safe.

Sprouted Wheat - This is how whole wheat breads are manufactured. The whole kernel is ground up into flour. Nothing is added or removed from the wheat. By using this process you add nutritional value to the bread and enhance its flavor.

Starch - Many foods have added starch for thickness or flow issues and it can come from many sources. However, the most common and cheapest starch available is cornstarch so unless it is specified your best bet is to consider any starch as a corn product.

Steady alcohol - Derived from Stearic acid – see above

Stearic Acid - Stearic acid can be produced a couple of different ways, generally either animal fat with be treated with high temperature and pressure water until hydrolysis of triglycerides is achieved or it can come from the hydrogenations of vegetable oils. The vegetable oil commonly used is canola however; corn oil is not unheard of. Stearic acid is used for making candles, plastics, diet supplements, oil paint and cosmetics.

Sucrose - Sucrose on average refers to cane sugars; however, there are candies and foods that contain sucrose from corn. Sucrose is a combination of glucose and fructose.

Food Allergens - T

Tartrazine- This is a synthetic food coloring that gives food a lemon yellow coloring. In food processes you can expect to see this coloring in soft drinks, energy drinks, chips with flavoring, rice, marmalades, mustard, and instant puddings to name a few. In other applications you can find it in moisturizes, crayons, cosmetics and soaps. You can also find it in vitamins and antacids. It causes a response in gluten intolerant (Celiac) people but only a few medical guides point this out.

Thiamine Mononitrate - It is made from corn and soy extracts as well as from petroleum products from either China or the Middle East. It is found in many baked goods and is a B vitamin. Mononitrates do break down into the "harmful kinds of nitrates" but in negligible amounts(if we can believe this)

Threonine - Theronine is an amino acid that can be derived from corn. However, the foods that contain the highest levels of theronine are cottage cheese, fish and sesame seeds.

Tocopherol - Tocopherol (vitamin E) refers to any of several fat-soluble vitamins that contain tocopherols. These are most commonly found in plant leaves, wheat germ oil and milk. Although originally extracted from wheat germ oil this natural vitamin E is extracted from vegetables oil.

Torula Yeast - iIs a species of yeast. It is widely used as a flavouring in processed foods and pet foods. It is produced from wood sugars, as a by-product of paper production.

Treacle - Dark brown sugary syrup that is produced when raw sugarcane is refined. Most people use it in cooking as a sweetener. Treacle has a distinct flavor that fall somewhere in between golden syrup and molasses. This substance can be made of corn, beet or cane sugar.

Triacetin (1,2,3-triacetoxypropane, glycerin triacetate) - It is the triester of glycerol and acetic acid.It is an artificial chemical compound and used as a food additive, humectant, a plasticizer, a solvent, and cigarette additives. It is also used as a fuel additive as an antiknock agent and to improve cold and viscosity properties of biodiesel.

Triethyl Citrate - This is a colorless, odorless liquid as a food additive and a stabilizing agent for whipping aid for egg whites. It is an ester of citric acid and has many applications including pharmaceutical coatings and plastics. Triethyl Citrate can be derived from corn.

Triticale - Is a combination of rye and wheat and is considered a grass cereal plant. See Rye and MIR for more details.

Tyrosine - It is an amino acids which is Improtant for people with the disorder phenylketonuria otherwise not essential. It is used in biochemical research and as a dietary supplement. You can buy it as as capsules, which can additional contain corn. Food Allergens are hidden everywhere in this product.

Triticum durum - See description of durum wheat for more detailed information.

Food Allergens - U

Udon - Very similar to spaghetti but is considered a Japanese thick noodle. It is typically made from corn or wheat flour. These noodles are made from both Food Allergens we should avoid.

Food Allergens - W

**Whey (Lacto serum) - The residue from milk after milk has been curdled and strained. Curdling means: Coagulating milk with renned or an edible acidic (eg. Vinegar, etc) Contains 92% water, about 1% protein (lactalbumin and lactoglobulin) and water-soluble vitamins and minerals. It is used to produce some kind of cheese and also as an additive in many processed foods.

**Whey Protein Concentrate- see WheyRemoving the water from Whey results in Whey Protein Concentrate (WPC) Powder. WPC is digested and absorbed better than any other protein.

**Whey Protein Isolate (see whey for details)– it is a mixture of globular proteins isolated from whey. Research in rodents demonstrated that whey protein may influence glutathione production and possess anti-inflammatory or anti-cancer properties. Is is commonly used as a dietary supplement.

White vinegar (see vinegar for details)- It is made by oxidizing distilled alcohol such as white wine, gin, vodka, sake, or others to oxidize.

Food Allergens - V

Vanilla Extract - Real vanilla extracts will have at least some corn syrup in them. If you need to use vanilla and are corn intolerant, you could try a local brand, Scotts from Acton MA.

Vanillin - Imitation vanilla extract is usually made by soaking alcohol into wood, which contains vanillin.

Vegetable Anything - Whenever you come across vegetable in the name of any product, the red flags should go up immediately for corn. Unless a product specifically says, it is corn free the chances are better than average that corn in mixed in there. Be cautious of things like, vegetable broth, protein, shortening, oil and mono or di-glycerides. Any or all of these products have the potential to contain Food Allergens such as corn or corn derivatives.

Vial Gluten - This is protein that is natural and is made from wheat flour. It is basically wheat flour that has the starch removed. When water is added it becomes elastic and is approved as a dough strengthener, thickener, and stabilizer. You can find this product in many specialty breads.

**Vinegar - Vinegar is used in a great variety of processed foods and can be made from corn. Vinegar is used to provide a tangy or sour taste to many things but is most often utilized in the pickling process. Vinegar is created by adding bacterial to wine, ale or fermented fruits and grains, including corn and wheat. The shelf life of properly stored vinegar is two years unopened and about 3-6 months once opened.

Vinyl Acetate - Vinyl Acetate is used in many different products that are probably found all around your home. This chemical has such far-reaching commercial and industrial applications that it boggles the mind. It is a chemical building block for plastics, lacquers, inks, elastomers, water based paints, adhesives, laminating adhesive, floor tiling, safety glasses, construction, acrylic fibers, personal care products, cosmetics and so much more! This chemical is prepared by adding acetic acid to acetylene and it can be corn derived.

Vitamin C - You would think that vitamin C supplements would be derived from citric fruits and would have little or nothing to do with corn. However, you would be mistaken. Vitamin C is produced for the commercial market in supplement form by the fermentation and chemical syntheses of fruits and vegetables. As discussed above any product that has vegetables in the mix must be suspect for corn or corn derivatives. In addition, many times the tablets themselves are created in such a way that cornstarch is present in the final product.

**Vitamins - The vast majorities are not corn derived; however, a few come directly from corn and many may have trace amounts due to the method of manufacture.

Food Allergens - W

Waxy Maize (see corn)

**Wine - An alcoholic beverage typically made of fermented grape juice. Different varieties of grapes and strains of yeasts are used depending on the type of wine being produced. Wine can also be made from other fruits. There are some wines which do not contain corn or gluten.

Wheat - Is part of the grass family that also includes corn, rice and barley to name a few. It is used in many types of cereals and has a very high gluten percentage which makes it great for baking cakes and bread. Durum is hard kernel wheat and is used for many types of pastas. Wheat is very versatile and can also be found in breakfast foods, biscuits, and pie crust. Many alcohols also use wheat such as beer and whisky. For someone with celiac disease any product with wheat should be avoided.

Wheat starch - This product of processing wheat. It can never be guaranteed to be gluten free. In fact in the Canada and the United States no type of wheat starch is recommended as appropriate for a gluten free diet.

Food Allergens - X

Xanthan Gum - Is a common thickener used in a variety of products. The fermenting of the bacterium Xanthomonas Campestris creates it. This bacterium can be grown in many ways including bulk corn sugars. There are some individual brands that say they are corn free, but they do not list the method in which it is grow. Xanthan Gum is a very cheap substance and is therefore already found in many products and the list is constantly growing. Salad dressings, mayonnaise and fast food milk shakes top the list. I have personally noticed it in cream cheese and have heard that Egg Beaters egg substitute also contains Xanthan Gum.

Xylitol - A common sweetener derived from corn and used as a sugar substitute.

Food Allergens - Y

**Yeast - If you have ever made bread or homemade wine, you have used yeast products. It is not derived from corn but has a propensity for being contaminated with it.

Food Allergens - Z

Zea Mays - This is the exactly same thing as maize/corn

Zein - The dictionary definition of zein is a soft yellow powder obtained from corn and used mainly in the production of textile fibers, plastic and paper coatings. Zein is often the encapsulate for time released medicines. Hidden Food Allergens in medicine can become a big problem.

Click here to Return from Food Allergens to Homepage

Click here to Return from Food Allergens to Safe Foodlist (Corn and Gluten Free Food And Items)

Click here to Return to Corn and Gluten Allergies

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.
Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Gluten Free Harmony.